onedayclosertohome

One day closer to my hero being home…

Today is Not a Good Day

on September 1, 2011

The best thing about today is that we are one day closer.

Wednesdays wear me out.  We are going from 7:45 in the morning until 8:00 in the evening.  If I forget something, I get to come home for five minutes in the afternoon.  Otherwise we don’t get home until after 8.

Last night, I was blessed by the dear friends who watch the kids while I coach, and I got to have grown up conversation.  The result?  We didn’t make it home until after 10!!  I threw the kids in bed, then crawled into bed myself.  I’m pretty sure I was asleep in less than five minutes.

I slept.

Hard.

I woke up this morning achy and groggy.  I reached for my phone….

It was 8:00.

I was supposed to Skype (for the first time since he left) with My Hero at 7:30!!!

I missed him. He stayed on for almost 20 minutes waiting for me.  I know because he sent me several emails wondering where I was.  I can’t believe that I overslept.  I can’t believe that I missed our first opportunity to see each other. My poor children have been asking me when they get to skype with their Daddy, and I blew it today.

I know that in the grand scheme of things, this is not a big deal.  I know that we will get another chance.  I know that there are many people families who don’t get the chance to skype. I know I should be thankful we get to talk to him so often.

But it still hurts.

I miss My Hero.

5 responses to “Today is Not a Good Day

  1. Angela says:

    I know how that is. I missed a couple with my husband too. It really stinks, but it will be ok. Please let me know if you need Shyanne to watch the kids, or if you need to just drop them off during the day here, Tristan can take a few hours off to play with them, I don’t mind at all. Please keep us in mind. We will keep you and your family in our prayers.
    Your Sister in Christ,
    Angela

  2. I know how that is. I missed a couple with my husband too. It really stinks, but it will be ok. Please let me know if you need Shyanne to watch the kids, or if you need to just drop them off during the day here, Tristan can take a few hours off to play with them, I don’t mind at all. Please keep us in mind. We will keep you and your family in our prayers.
    Hey, hope this doesn’t post twice, I am not sure if I did it right the first time.
    Your Sister in Christ,
    Angela

  3. That is a bummer… I always hated missing Chris’ phone calls! Well next week Chris leaves and we will be in the same boat as you=( Keep pressing on!

Leave a Reply

