onedayclosertohome

One day closer to my hero being home…

God’s Provision in the Phone Fiasco

on September 8, 2011

So.  As you all know by now, my iPhone 4 fell in the the ocean today.  That stinks.

However, God once again demonstrated His perfect love and provision for me.

Three days after My Hero deployed, I went to the AT&T store with orders in hand to put his phone on suspension.  He obviously isn’t using it Over There.  The store I went to was not the right kind of AT&T store, so they faxed the orders for me and told me to call AT&T directly to actually suspend the line.  When I called to suspend the line, the customer service agent told me that they were no longer suspending military lines.  I found this interesting and puzzling, considering I was pretty sure that I had seen info on it on their website.  But, being tired and busy, I didn’t push it, and I went on my merry way.

Well.  My phone is (was) new.  It was a birthday/Mother’s Day present from My Hero.  Obviously, not eligible for an upgrade.  In order to replace it under my account, it would have cost $600.  However, My Hero was eligible for an upgrade.  An upgrade I had planned on giving him as a gift when he gets home, but, well, things happen.  AT&T does this lovely thing where they will let families switch around their upgrades, so I was able to use My Hero’s upgrade to get my new phone.  While I was there, I mentioned that I was disappointed with the fact that AT&T was no longer offering military suspensions.  The guy looked at me like I had an extra head.  He said of course they still offered that, and he would set me up with it right then.  The total we will save in our phone bill is about $200, the same price as my new phone.

Then he smiled.  Looking at me curiously, he said, “Here’s an interesting twist of fate.  Had you suspended the line three weeks ago, when they told you they couldn’t do it, you would not have been able to switch upgrades with your husband.”

Wow.  It was frustrating to hear that we weren’t going to be able to suspend the line.  It was frustrating to resign myself to spending $50 a month on a phone we weren’t using.  It was frustrating that my phone fell in the water.  It was frustrating to know I had to spend $200 of our hard-earned money on something so easily preventable.

But I can no longer feel frustrated.

God Provided.  He is the Provider.  He is the Comforter.  In my frustration, I felt like every day had something discouraging about it, and I felt like I couldn’t get my head above the water.  He reminded me today that He is guiding my every step.  He is anticipating my needs before I even know I have them.  He provided a way for us to get the phone out of money we were already spending.  Had things worked out in any other way, this would have been a lot more painful.  He truly worked all things for my good.  He knew I needed that upgrade.  He knew that I needed His Comfort today, and not just because of the phone.  He knew my heart.

The steadfast love of the Lord never fails.  His mercies are new every morning.  Even when we don’t feel it.

4 responses to “God’s Provision in the Phone Fiasco

  1. That’s fabulous! I love this kind of synchronicity. 🙂

  2. kaquinlan says:

    God is truly amazing in the way He orchestrates our lives! I needed this reminder this week, too! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Judy says:

    God is good. There is no other answer.

Leave a Reply

