onedayclosertohome

One day closer to my hero being home…

Be Still….

on September 11, 2011

Be still, and KNOW that I am God.

On this day, it is good to remember that this world isn’t forever.  It is good to remember that the God who created the Heavens and the Earth is still God.  He has been here since the beginning of the earth, He is here with us now, and He was here 10 years ago. He will be here with us until the end of the world, whenever that may be.

When the towers fell, our nation was struck with fear.  I saw that fear reawaken this week.  It seemed like the entire area tensed up in remembering that terrible day ten years ago. It’s easy to be fearful.

But we’re not commanded to be fearful.  We are given a spirit of peace.  This peace surpasses all understanding.  It is a peace that lives within those who believe, and the more we dwell on that peace, the more we allow it to overtake us, the easier it is to trust that it will remain, even when we don’t understand what is happening around us.

It is hard to be a military family sometimes.  I still have not watched one 9/11 video today.  I haven’t talked about it with my kids.  It’s hard not to think about the fact that our area has recently lost people Over There.  But even with how heavy my heart has been for the last few days, there are two verses that have penetrated the clouds of sadness and doubt.  One is Psalm 46, which in context is even more amazing.  the other is Isaiah 41:10

10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

To have that promise that HE upholds me with His righteous right hand makes all the difference.  Yes, it is tough that My Hero is gone.  It is tough that my body is falling apart.  It is terrifying to think about The Worst Case Scenario.  But HE, the Lord of Lords, holds me up.  He promises to guide me.  He eases my dismay by the mere fact that He is GOD.  Peace doesn’t come because He promises to take away the pain.  Peace doesn’t come because He promises to take away sadness.  His promise is much better than that.  He promises to guide us through the pain and sadness.  He promises to never leave or forsake us. No matter how many things fall apart around us, He will not abandon us.  We don’t have to rely on our own strength.  We can rely on His.

 

4 responses to “Be Still….

  1. kaquinlan says:

    A very good word!

  2. Judy says:

    Well said. We were promised tribulation. But more oftrn we are promised that He will never leave us. God is good.

  3. Judy says:

    By the way… I wish I was able to wake up to the view you have. Wow. Even in the pic it is so comforting!

Leave a Reply

